Arch Linux CORE

Well, I just felt like trying out Arch Linux, a bleeding edge Slackware-like distro and its great so far. Heres a review

Install

Install went smoothly, great comments on all the configuration and I knew what packages I needed. I rate Install to be 4.5 out of 5 (Could have been GUI but hey its for intermediate/advanced)

First Boot

First boot was eh but that was mostly because I was unfamiliar with pacman. For example it didnt come with xorg. This was a pain because the mirror that I selected was pretty darn slow so it took a good half hour to install xorg and gnome. Then I switched to a faster mirror (I pinged all of the mirrors on the mirrorlist and picked the one with the least ms to respond) and I updated. It updated very smoothly and I had no problems updating.

2nd Boot

Now I actually tested xorg and i had a few anoyances. For example, gnome package didnt install gdm. This wasnt bad but instead of typing startx I have to type gdm. Another thing that bothered me was the crappy fonts. I used the guide From Ubuntu Site and it worked fine, I just had to install msttcorefonts and then change all default fonts except terminal font to the one that ubuntu site gives me. After that I killed the xserver and then installed the nvidia graphics drivers. This went smoothly. And Finally I setup mutlimedia hotkeys and saved a copy of the .Xmodmap file on my storage hardrive for later use.

That’s all for now but so far Arch has beaten Slackware and any other linux distro I’ve used

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

